You Can Advertise Whatever You Like

March 4, 2009

While flipping through some old issues of the New York Times, I found an article about an Atheist advertising campaign that is using double-decker buses to deliver their message. The message, “There’s probably no god. Now stop worrying and enjoy your life,” was met with responses ranging from utter disgust to amusement. Even more entertaining were the ads Australians unsucessfully tried place on buses saying “Atheism: Sleep in on Sunday mornings.”

While the offensiveness of these messages is debatable it isn’t why this article caught my eye. I never thought Atheism would need to use branding strategies to recruit disbelievers, and it reminds me how much I love advertising. Anything in the world can be advertised for! While there are millions of people that hate the traditional beer, cigarette, sex and Slim Jim approach, it reminds me that there are great brands out there with the potential to change the world that no one has properly explored.

The industry is changing and strategies are transforming.  Watch out world.

Leave a comment